Pan Roasted Mocha Granola Musli Monster

26 Jul

How did I come up with this recipe, you ask?

I had a craving for some toasted oats.

I didn’t have a lot of time.

I wanted something healthy.

I saw this recipe and this recipe and decided to combine them to create one awesome healthy recipe!

I didn’t have exact measurements, so you will have to bear with me.




Coco powder

Instant coffee

Flax Seed Meal (optional)


Heat a 15 inch pan on medium high heat. Sprinkle a layer of old-fashion oats until it covers the pan. While it’s roasting, chop up a handful of walnuts. Add a sprinkling of coco powder, instant coffee, and flax seed meal. Stir to combine, then stir every 2-3 minutes until oats are browned, about 10-15 minutes. Add in walnuts and stir until you smell the nuttiness, about another 3-4 minutes.


Now how easy was that?

If you want it to be more clumpy, granola style, you can add a sprinkle of brown sugar and a couple drizzles of olive oil. The way I made it is more like a cereal, but that’s what I wanted. You can put it over milk or greek yogurt, but I ate mine with milk as mine was expiring soon. I even drank all of the milk! Mom, aren’t you surprised / proud of me?

I ate mine with skim milk and a lot of black berries. But I forgot to take pictures of that so you will have to stare at the picture of the granola musli monster pre milk+berries. My apologies.

4 Responses to “Pan Roasted Mocha Granola Musli Monster”

  1. runaway cook July 27, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Yes, I’m very proud of you. Now, you are my role model.

    with love,

  2. pineapplecake July 30, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Easy peasy!!! Good job, and healthy too! Must make this weekend and put on top of greek yogurt or my steal cut oats this week for bfast! xo

  3. pineapplecake July 30, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Do you have it on medium-high heat the entire time? Or change to med/low?

  4. amychien July 30, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    I kept it on medium high…let me know how yours turns out!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

