Nandita’s Chicken Curry

11 Dec

Thank you Nandy for sending us this recipe! I can’t wait to try it out!

~ 1 lb chicken thigh cut into 1-2 inch pieces (bite size)
1/2 medium onion, chopped fine
2 medium size tomatoes, cut into quarters
cilantro, about 20-30 sprigs
1/2 green chili (optional)
2 cloves garlic
1 tsp oil

salt to taste
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 tsp each black pepper, cumin, coriander powder
1/2 tsp chili powder

Fry onion in oil on medium heat.
While onions are cooking, blend tomatoes, cilantro, garlic, chili into puree.
When onions are browned, pour in the blended stuff.
Add the spices. Mix well.
Throw in the chicken, mix well and let simmer until chicken is cooked, 20 mins or so. Taste for seasonings and add more of whatever you feel is necessary. You can add 1 tsp garam masala or curry powder if you want (i forgot).
Add pinch of sugar if tomatoes are too tart.

Done! Serve with brown rice or whole wheat naan or whatever tickles your fancy.

4 Responses to “Nandita’s Chicken Curry”

  1. pineapplecake December 13, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    Uh-mazing! I’ve been looking for a simple yet scrumptious curry recipe, and this might be the one! Thanks Nandy and Amy!

  2. Eugenia December 13, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    I love Nanquiqui’s curry. I can vouch for many of her dishes, including a couple of different kinds of curry. I’m glad you got Nandy’s recipes up here!

  3. Amber December 22, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Wow! this is amazing! I have a Pakistani friend whose family makes amazing chicken curry, and I have been really wanting some curry lately. I tried this recipe last week and made some mistake. I didn’t have coriander, I used white meat chicken, and the sauce was too thin. I made adjustments and it came out awesome. This time, I used thigh meat like you called for, but I used 1.8 pounds. I fried the onions in butter, and I used a tablespoon of minced garlic from a jar. I used 2 teaspoons of red curry powder, but the rest of the seasonings were as called for, but no salt. I had to thicken the sauce, it was thin as is, I fist tried using a mix of cornstarch and water, but that didn’t do much, so I heated up equal parts oil and flour (I think it was 1/5 cup each) and let it start to brown then added a bit of curry sauce into and mixed it all back into the curry and let it thicken a bit uncovered. It came out AMAZING and I ate it with garlic naan. Next time I’m going to add some yogurt to the sauce, I didn’t have any this time. Thank you so much for this recipe, I will be making this over and over!


  1. Would You Rather? Thai vs. Indian | So Good - June 22, 2011

    […] via From Our Family Kitchen & Style […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

